Terry Forrette Spirit of Education Award

Presented by: Louisiana Society for Respiratory Care

This award is dedicated to the memory of long time Louisiana educator Terry Forrette. Terry dedicated a great portion of his life by giving above and beyond the service of excellence through educating, mentoring students and inspired numerous therapist who are leading our profession today. He motivated many of his students to become educators themselves.

2024 lsrc award recipients

2024 Winner is Molly Quinn Jensen MBA, RRT


Who Qualifies?

The LSRC Terry Forrette Spirit of Education Award is a prestigious recognition that is subject to specific criteria to ensure the acknowledgment of outstanding achievements. 

Additionally, this award will include:

  • A free one year renewal of their AARC membership
  • Forward all nomination letters and CV’s to:  John Zamjahn  ([email protected])

Must be a member in good standing in the AARC

Must be a respiratory therapist holding a Louisiana License in good standing

Must be a respiratory therapy educator for at least 5 years.

Must be dedicated to the education and growth of future respiratory therapist

Must have demonstrate exemplary teaching skills, innovative approaches to education, and a genuine passion for shaping the future of our students.

Must be an individual who goes above and beyond his/her educator roll to make a difference behind the scenes, other than what they are paid to do as part of their job.

Nominations Process

  1. Any AARC member can nominate an individual for consideration
  2. Nominations must be accompanied by a cover letter explaining why this person qualifies for the award. The letter should be submitted in a word document attachment via email.
  3. Nominations must include a current CV (curriculum vitae).
  4. All nomination letters and CV’s should be received no later than November 15th.

Selection Process

  • One (1) award shall be presented each year at the LSRC Annual Educational Meeting. If a strong candidate who meets all criteria cannot be chosen, no award will be presented for that year.
  • Nominations shall be reviewed and voted upon by a committee consisting of five educators in our state.
  • The chosen candidates name shall be announced at the annual business meeting of the LSRC Board of Directors.