Hospital of the Year Award

Presented by: Louisiana Society for Respiratory Care


Who Qualifies?

The LSRC Hospital of the Year Award is a distinguished accolade that adheres to specific criteria designed to identify and celebrate exceptional healthcare institutions. To qualify for this esteemed recognition, hospitals must exhibit outstanding performance in various domains, including patient care, innovation, staff satisfaction, and community impact.

Respiratory Care Services must be provided by personnel who obtain the CRT or RRT credentials.

Facility must be able to provide some type of proof/confirmation of claims if requested by judging panel.

The application must be signed by the Respiratory Therapy Department Manager, and the Hospital/Facility CEO.

% of staff with RRT credential

% of staff that are AARC members

(Please provide AARC numbers and Renewal dates)

% of staff with specialized credentials/certificates


Presence & use of Therapists Driven Protocols

Blood Gas Lab Efficiency and Safety

Turn around times, Latest CAP/JC inspection, # of analytes accredited for services offered at facility under the Respiratory Therapy Department

% of staff maintaining advanced competency procedures/equipment and therapy

Retention rate of respiratory therapy department

Professional relationships and effective communication amongst all team members caring for pulmonary patients

Community Outreach opportunities, health fairs etc.

Smoking Cessation Clinics offered

Clinical site for Respiratory Therapy Students

If you are a past HOTY recipient the judging will include proof of improvement

Judging will be done in a manner which is non-biased. The judging committee will not be aware of any identification of the facility at the time of judging. You may send your entry electronically to the Award Collections Committee at [email protected] then mail your signed entries to Melissa Smith at 261 Empress Court Madisonville, LA 70447.

All therapist driven protocols must accompany the application (preferably electronic). A list of respiratory therapists in your department with credentials and AARC member numbers must accompany your application for the validation committee’s use. This information will ONLY be used for validation purposes.

The award recipients will be honored and recognized at the LSRC annual conference, and will be given free admission for two to the conference.

For questions please contact your Chapter President or Melissa Smith @ 225.610.4540 or by the above email address.
Deadline for applications is December 15 Annually